LOWNDES COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MINUTES REGULAR SESSION Tuesday, June 24, 2025

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Chairman Bill Slaughter Commissioner Scott Orenstein Commissioner Mark Wisenbaker Commissioner Michael Smith Commissioner Demarcus Marshall

Vice Chairperson Joyce Evans was not in attendance.

Chairman Slaughter called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. Commissioner Marshall arrived after the Invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

INVOCATION

Commissioner Smith

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Commissioner Smith

MINUTES

The minutes were presented for the work session of June 9, 2025 and the regular session of June 10, 2025. Commissioner Marshall requested prior to the meeting for a revision to the minutes to accurately reflect Dr. Clemons's title, changing it from Mr. to Dr. Commissioner Orenstein made a motion to approve the minutes as presented, second by Commissioner Smith. All voted in favor, no one opposed. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT

Lowndes County Library Board

County Manager, Paige Dukes, presented the appointment. Mrs. Dukes stated the second term of Dr. J. Eleveta Miller will expire June 30, 2025, leaving a vacant seat. Mr. Malcolm Warren has been recommended and has shown an interest in serving as well as Dr. Samuel Clemons. Commissioner Marshall nominated Dr. Samuel Clemons. There being no other nominations, Dr. Samuel Clemons was appointed by acclamation.

FOR CONSIDERATION

Lowndes County Juvenile Accountability Court (LCJAC) FY26 Budget & Grant Award

Chairman Slaughter presented the item stating the Commission heard from Mr. Geoffrey Martin during the work session. No further discussion took place. Commissioner Marshall made a motion to approve